Réserver

Si vous avez 2 jours

Malin Head

Point le plus au nord de l’Irlande, Malin Head est chargé d’histoire et ne manque pas de spots photo. En été, les hôtes de Rathmullan House peuvent profiter du Swilly Ferry, qui longe la péninsule d’Inishowen jusqu’à la fameuse “Couronne de Banba”, extrémité nord du pays. Évoquant une mythique reine d’Irlande, ce nom ajoute à la dimension mystique du magnifique site.

Les jours de beau temps, vous pourrez apercevoir les collines d’Écosse de l’autre côté de l’océan ; la marée basse révèle l’épave du “Twilight”, qui fit naufrage lors de son voyage inaugural vers Derry en 1889. Il y en a pour tous les goûts à Malin Head : randonnée, pêche, baignade, photographie, étude de la formation des roches ou des plantes rares, et même golf à Inishowen.

Certaines nuits froides d’hiver, vous pourriez même être témoins d’aurores boréales depuis Malin Head et le nord du Donegal. Les voyageurs qui ont la chance d’apercevoir ce phénomène naturel sont certainement nés sous une bonne étoile !

Ajoutez à tout cela certaines des plus grandes dunes de sable d’Europe, des postes de signalisation mythiques et un phare ancien, et vous comprendrez pourquoi Malin vaut la traversée du Swilly depuis Rathmullan.

Make a Reservation

If you have 2 Days

Malin Head

The most northerly point of Ireland is found at Malin Head which is a location steeped in history and not short of photo opportunities. Guests at Rathmullan House can make use of the Swilly Ferry in summer months and drive along the Inishowen Peninsula to the famous ‘Banba’s crown’, the most Northerly point of Ireland. The name Banba derives from a mythical queen of Ireland which adds to the mystique of this beautiful location.

On a clear day visitors to Malin Head can view the hills of Scotland across the water and on low tide the wreck of ‘the Twilight’ is visible which sank on its maiden voyage to Derry in 1889. Malin Head is an area for all tastes, including walking, fishing, swimming, photography, studying rock formations or rare flora and it is close to Inishowen’s splendid golf courses.

Aurora Borealis or ‘the Northern Lights’ as they are more commonly known have been seen over Malin Head and north Donegal on cold dark nights in Winter. Visitors who manage to get a glimpse of this natural phenomenon should really thank their lucky stars!

Add to this some of the largest sand dunes in Europe, historical signal stations and an ancient lighthouse and it is easy to see why a trip to Malin is well worth the journey across the Swilly from Rathmullan.